PAID PARKING 1967 STYLE

A friend just sent me this amazing photo of photo charges in Freo in 1967. While it might seem cheap it is cheaper on High and Adelaide Streets now ;-).

20130721-202753.jpg

About Mayor of Fremantle Brad Pettitt's blog
City of Fremantle Mayor

5 Responses to PAID PARKING 1967 STYLE

  1. Roger Garwood says:

    Bard, I remember when I arrived here in 1974 it cost 1cent for 6 minutes outside the Town Hall. Heavens knows what happened to all that revenue 🙂
    I’d just come from central London where, heaven forbid, I was paying a quid day!

  2. Roger Garwood says:

    Brad, I remember when I arrived here in 1974 it cost 1cent for 6 minutes outside the Town Hall. Heavens knows what happened to all that revenue 🙂
    I’d just come from central London where, heaven forbid, I was paying a quid day!

  3. Emma Anda says:

    That is hilarious, I love the hand drawn map with the coloured texta and the little hand drawn parking meters. You mentioned one and two cent coins; it makes me feel ancient even remembering copper coins now! So weird my children have never known them.
    I just emptied out my loose change piggy bank to give my daughter her Sunday pocket money, lots of tiny 5 cent pieces in there and even they are starting to look a bit antiquated to me now. Maybe they’ll be phased out one day too… we can add them to the pile under the town hall stage!

  4. Colin Nichol says:

    What is also interesting is the amount of sections of streets not metered

Leave a Reply

