Mayoring and Federal Seat of Freo

 

I strenuously avoid talking about party politics on this Mayoral blog and also avoid it best I can in my Mayoral role as I need to work with all side of politics to get things done. But given some of the rumours and announcements in recent weeks in relation to me continuing as Freo’s mayor I thought it worth providing some background and clarification.

A rumour floating around over the last few weeks was that I was thinking of putting my hand up to run for the federal seat of Fremantle as the Greens candidate. It certainly is true that I did have discussions with a few people around the pros and cons of running. But I had a number of reservations. The first was that I had little desire to run against my deputy-mayor Josh Wilson. We have a great working relationship on Council and if he can get through the ALP’s tough preselection process I expect he will be an impressive Labor candidate

Second is that I am still loving the challenges of the mayoral role and there is still so much to do. In fact, it is only in the last few months that it has it really felt like all the hard work of recent years is starting to bear fruit. Amendment 38 which was passed around 5 years ago is only recently leading to a building boom in the East End. And there are some exciting opportunities potentially opening up around the South side of port and around Fremantle Oval I am keen to advocate for. Importantly, I also I still have around 20 months still to go in this term as Mayor and despite further rumours that I will not run again I can honestly say I have not made up my mind yet. I probably won’t until the end of this calendar year.

So I was extremely pleased when Fremantle lawyer Kate Davis indicated she was interested in nominating. Her interest in being a candidate certainly helped me make up my mind that I didn’t need to. So jump forward a week or two and, as you may have read in the West and the Fremantle Herald, Kate was today announced as the Greens candidate for the federal seat of Fremantle. I am sure Kate will be a passionate and articulate progressive candidate.

It will now be interesting to see who the Liberal party preselect.

Wherever this election ultimately lands, Fremantle certainly deserves a strong community representative in the federal parliament to replace the much loved Melissa Parke.

This blog will continue to stay out of party political matters but there is no doubt that it is going to be an interesting few political months ahead in Fremantle and it will be fascinating to watch it all unfold.

 

About Mayor of Fremantle Brad Pettitt's blog
City of Fremantle Mayor

8 Responses to Mayoring and Federal Seat of Freo

  1. blagg60 says:

    Good to hear you’re not going anywhere :0

  2. Sharron Mcculloc says:

    Follow your heart ,you have been an amazing Mayor for Freo, but this is no dress rehearsal you only have one go at this… So follow your dream…
    I have had a business in Freo for 10 years it was stale and unproactive but you have managed to move it forward… You are moving forward too…. Good luck..

  3. Julie says:

    Glad to hear Brad, we need you here to ‘finish what you’ve started’ loving all the great improvements and looking forward to more – thanks for all you do

  4. tyler says:

    Go brad!!! xxx

  5. Paula Amaral says:

    I think you have been an excellent Mayor. The community never had so many opportunities to be involved with the City with any of the previous mayors. Yes, we don’t always get what we want but that’s life.

  6. Katie stone says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We also so need transparency and open communication in today’s demanding world, especially local government.

  7. Daniel says:

    Not an easy job being a visionary Brad, I appreciate that. I also would like to see you stay on and continue what you and your team have started. Living in the East End of the city for 15 years, loving the change!

  8. Thanks to you all for your kind comments. Makes me feel even more motivated 🙂

Leave a Reply

