A Self-Guided Bike Tour of Freo’s Alternative History: “Demolished and Unbuilt”

Over the last couple of weekends as part of the Fremantle Heritage Festival I ran a free alternative history bike tour called “Demolished and Unbuilt”. It was lots of fun but I know many of you missed out as it was fully subscribed.

So I thought I would post the tour so that you can take you and your mates on a ride through Freo’s alternative futures if you are so inclined. It starts at the Rainbow and finishes at the Norfolk. Enjoy!

About Mayor of Fremantle Brad Pettitt's blog
City of Fremantle Mayor

3 Responses to A Self-Guided Bike Tour of Freo’s Alternative History: “Demolished and Unbuilt”

  1. kevin johns says:

    Dear Mayor,

    I came to Fremantle from Melbourne in 1950 aged 13 years , worked in various wool stores as a wool classer from 1955 to 1965, then worked as a shipping clerk on the waterfront for 25 years , now live in Mandurah but still consider Fremantle very much my home town , visit regularly and love to read the Fremantle Herald to keep up with happenings in my lovely old town which is filled with soooo many memories for me , even tho I never see anyone I know there anymore , unlike the old days when almost everyone was related …… why this preamble ! I feel it is my qualification to comment ?

    I have an all electric car so do appreciate the free parking and charging very much .

    I have cruised in and out of Fremantle port several times in recent years , it is great we still have the lovely passenger terminal from the 1960s immigration days …but feel sad to see Vic. quay has never been upgraded or made more welcoming , even tho great plans were announced more than 20 years ago !! only more security in the form of high fencing and locked gates , could I suggest council have a look on the internet at what Cape town has done with their old docks , absolutely fantastic and attracts thousands of visitors to dine and stroll , and boy ! does Fremantle need something to bring it back to life apart from the Cappuccino strip , still with its traffic and fumes . Funds ? well you must have plenty, to demolish perfectly good buildings and replace them to make council people more comfortable . I am not a member of any group, in fact I do not know anyone there now , just my own thoughts , and listening to comments of cruise people on their first visit to my town , sadly not impressed and I could say nothing in defence .

    Thank you for reading this rambling of an old man

    sincerely Kevin Hodge

    ________________________________

  2. Pingback: A Self-Guided Bike Tour of Freo’s Alternative History: “Demolished and Unbuilt” — City of Fremantle Mayor Brad Pettitt’s Blog | A Flash Packers Guide

Leave a Reply

